An Outstanding Cup of Joe

Standard

Here is just one of the very funniest and most fun things that happened once when my Mom and I stopped at a Waffle House.  We both love hot, freshly brewed, black coffee.  We both love Apple Pie.  We both love Vanilla Ice Cream.  We both love being together and enjoying one another’s company.  One day we had made a trip not too far from home, yet out of town and decided to stop at Waffle House for all of the above.  Of course, being Christians, and always praying over all of our food, we received our ‘food’ and immediately bowed our heads.  I waited for Mama to go ahead…then came the beginning of snickering…”Dear Heavenly Father, <some more snickering, a little bit more and then some more>,,We thank You for this … <giggling now> .. food and ask You to … <okay, now we’re both beginning to lose control> .. give us nourishment, <almost couldn’t finish with tears running down our cheeks from laughing so hard>.. and strengthen us..<one might say, guffaws by now>…In Jesus’ Name.  Amen.

The waitress was trying not to just all out crack up, but just as soon as we finished this short prayer that took at least 3 times longer to say than usual, we all just lost it completely, she brought us some more napkins so we could wipe our eyes just in order to see our ‘nourishing food’ as we were TRYING to compose ourselves and eat before the ice cream could melt.  That is still one of the most enjoyable memories I have of Mama and me eating anything out.  What a thing to remember, huh?  She is always fun and has always made laughter a big part of life.

*Note:  While we do both love Apple Pie (hence my reason for leaving the photo in the blog), after talking with Mama yesterday about my new food blog, she corrected me in that we got Pecan Pie, and the reason we laughed so hard was due to all that ‘sweetness’ in the pie.  Ok, so I’m corrected.  Her response about my food blog: “How do you blog food? I can’t imagine a food blog.”  A conversation with my sister and I answered all her questions.

(You know, it seems all my memories are different than the same memory of my siblings, Mom, even others.  Makes me think of the way Matthew, Mark, Luke and John told the SAME stories in ‘their own words’ of ‘from their own perspectives’.  Could it be we all see the same things with our own slant?  I think so.)  This is MY story and I’m sticking to it! *_*

About gingy55

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways; family, friends, and those who may one day be friends. Being blessed with a rich heritage of cooks, I decided to share some of my life with those who are interested. I pray that you're going to be able to add to your repertoire of meals either by using my recipes or customizing them for you, your family and friends. BTW Gingy is the name my brother and sister called me when we were little as they couldn't say Jennie.

Leave a Reply

