Grandma White’s Old Fashion Fig Cake

Standard

Early this week some friends came over for a visit and brought us a gallon of fresh Figs.  Thanks You, Lord for blessing us with so much fresh produce.  We are so very thankful.  While our family doesn’t hold Fig Preserves as a fave or even high on the list of choices given another the guys really like Fig Newtons and because of this I began my search for creative Fig recipes.  In this adventure I found a recipe that is reminiscent of my Grandma White’s Old Fashion Fig Cake, baked in a bundt or tube pan.  After tweaking it a bit, omitting and substituting ingredients, I made it ‘her own’.

Christmas 1964 I was given a new revelation and that was Daddy loved this cake.  We always liked finding out things he liked and in finding this one recipe again it brought back all those great memories.  He is now with the Lord in Heaven, since 1994 and things he liked remind me of good memores.

2 c. raw figs, mashed
2 c. sugar
3/4 c. shortening (I subtituted with Oil)
4 eggs
2 c. + 2 tbsp. flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. allspice
1 tsp. baking soda
1 c. chopped pecans (I omitted this)
Mix together sugar, figs, shortening and eggs.  Beat well; then add flour, cinnamon, allspice, baking soda and pecans.  Pour in a well greased and floured Bundt cake pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. (It took about 55 minutes for my oven.)
(Bundt pan–I have 2 pans that I really wouldn’t call Mini-pans but can take the batter of a cake and make two perfect size cakes that fit perfectly on a dinner plate.)
About gingy55

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways; family, friends, and those who may one day be friends. Being blessed with a rich heritage of cooks, I decided to share some of my life with those who are interested. I pray that you're going to be able to add to your repertoire of meals either by using my recipes or customizing them for you, your family and friends. BTW Gingy is the name my brother and sister called me when we were little as they couldn't say Jennie.

Leave a Reply

