Spinach Lasagna & Fresh Green Salad

Standard

We are a family who all love meat, however today I wanted to make a meal we’d all love and onein which I could substitute a well liked veggie in place of the meat.  Eureka!!!  I got it!  Spinach.  We all really like Spinach!  I wanted to use whole wheat pasta but couldn’t find it at the store where I was shopping so I decided on the only lasagna noodles that could be layered with the rest of my ingredients and baking all in one dish without having to cook before hand.

Ingredients:

Lasagna Noodles

8 oz. cream cheese

16 oz. sour cream

24 oz. small curd cottage cheese

8 oz. grated Mozzarella cheese

2 10 oz. pkg. frozen chopped spinach

1 14.5 oz. can Italian diced tomatoes

1 26.5 oz. can Tradition marinara sauce (Del Monte)

Preheat oven to 350.  Let cream cheese come to room temp and mix with fork into the sour cream making it easily spreadable, also mix sauce and tomatoes well.  Spray 13x9x2 casserole dish with cooking spray and begin layering components with noodles, spreading each layer alternately; cream cheese/sour cream mixture,  spinach, the sauce/tomatoes, cottage cheese and grated cheese.  After making 4 layers of each tear off aluminum foil and spray with cooking spray before covering casserole.  Bake for 1 hour, remove and let stand about 10 minutes.

Cut and eat!

Fresh Green Salad tonight was 1 heart of Romaine Lettuce, half of a bell pepper, 5 oz. cherry tomatoes and 1 cucumber peeled and sliced.  Combine and top with favorite dressing.  Mine is Bleu Cheese.  Yum

About gingy55

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways; family, friends, and those who may one day be friends. Being blessed with a rich heritage of cooks, I decided to share some of my life with those who are interested. I pray that you're going to be able to add to your repertoire of meals either by using my recipes or customizing them for you, your family and friends. BTW Gingy is the name my brother and sister called me when we were little as they couldn't say Jennie.

Leave a Reply

