God’s Recipe for Joy and Memories

Standard

Today I had for breakfast some of the most delectable Yellow Meat Watermelon.  Oh my, memories came flooding to my mind.  I was a little girl again as our family had a great picnic at Millham Park in Kalamazoo, MI.  Daddy always loved any watermelon and in my relocation in my mind I recalled a happy time as he cut some of this delectable treat for everyone to partake in together.  He always made a BIG PROCUCTION of eating watermelon.  I actually found the photo, can you believe that?  I was thrilled.  He had recently gotten back home from his stint in Viet Nam in the mid ’60s so everything for him was an extremely special occasion.  Yes, you do see correctly, that melon is not Yellow but Red, however that does not in any way take away from his favor for the Yellow Meat.  He loved the long melons over the round ones and would cut them lengthwise in 8ths if we just had 1 melon but loved it most if we had 2 melons preferred cutting them in 4ths.  We have a family of 6 children and we’d love to eat our melon holding our piece with both hands and burying our mouth down over the middle and biting letting the juice run all down the middle dripping on the ground.  Yes, the ground, we NEVER ate watermelon in the house, it was too messy because we enjoyed the heck out of it.  LOL  Besides, we would then run through the sprinkler or like when at Millham Park we’d get in the water and play and play and just have the most awesome time.

Okay, now back to present day, I truly enjoyed my Yellow Meat Watermelon this morning, head back, eyes closed and melt in my mouth moment…okay, back again.  Yes, it was that good.

Look what’s in my kitchen today – 8/18/12 – there must be future plans to grow our own Yellow Meat Watermelons.  YAY!!!  🙂

 

 

 

About gingy55

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways; family, friends, and those who may one day be friends. Being blessed with a rich heritage of cooks, I decided to share some of my life with those who are interested. I pray that you're going to be able to add to your repertoire of meals either by using my recipes or customizing them for you, your family and friends. BTW Gingy is the name my brother and sister called me when we were little as they couldn't say Jennie.

Leave a comment