Carolina Skillet Cake (my way)

Standard

Teresa from ‘Can’t Stay out of the Kitchen’ posted this recipe on the 16th and when I read it, oh my, I just had to make it for my guys.  I tweaked it, of course, do I ever leave anything the same way I find it when I make it?  Not!

Original Recipe

CAROLINA SKILLET CAKE:

(Recipe from Martha White Flour)

1/3 c. shortening

1 3/4 c. flour

3/4 c. milk

2/3 c. sugar

2 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/c c. chopped pecans or nuts

Heat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease and lightly dust with flour a cake pan or iron skillet, 10 inches round and 2 inches deep.  Cream shortening, gradually adding sugar until light and fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition.  Add flour and milk alternately.  Fold in nuts.  Pour into pan and top with crumble topping.  Make indentations in the batter with your finger all the way to the bottom of the pan so the topping will bake into the cake.  Bake 35 minutes.  If desired, drizzle with powdered sugar icing.

CRUMBLE TOPPING:

Combine 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 2 T. butter and 2 T. flour.  Mix with fingertips or pastry blender.

POWDERED SUGAR ICING:

Mix 1 c. powdered sugar with 2 T. hot milk and 1/2 tsp. vanilla.  Drizzle over warm cake.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As you may see from my top photo, I deleted the nuts, but used raisins and left out the flour in the Crumble Topping.  I also added 2 T. cinnamon to the mix.

Unintentionally, I left out the baking powder from the cake mix and the salt.  However, what a great idea, as the density of the cake helped hold it together well, had I added the baking powder it would have fallen apart (at least I think so).  Oh, and I included one egg as our eggs are fresh yard eggs which are extra large and very potent.

Everyone loved it.  You’ll see muy hubby’s plate in his lap, oh yes, and my empty plate in the slideshow.  Wonderful treat on this Saturday after our 16th Wedding Anniversary.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About gingy55

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways; family, friends, and those who may one day be friends. Being blessed with a rich heritage of cooks, I decided to share some of my life with those who are interested. I pray that you're going to be able to add to your repertoire of meals either by using my recipes or customizing them for you, your family and friends. BTW Gingy is the name my brother and sister called me when we were little as they couldn't say Jennie.

One response »

Leave a Reply

