Cranberry Nut Vanilla Chip Bars

Standard

This reminds me of a bar I made with and for my co-workers back in the ’70s. Memories of these are very special. I’m just thrilled with the feelings experienced when thinking back to that time of life with those friends.

Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen

A super delicious, quick and easy recipe that is inspired by one of our favorite blond brownie recipes from Taste of Home. I borrow the main ingredients for the recipe and switch out 1 cup craisins for the chocolate chunks, and 1 cup walnuts for the macadamia nuts. (Yes, we make it the original way, too. But it is such a good recipe we have a lot of fun with different combinations.) We’ve made them with the craisins, walnuts, and vanilla chips before–they taste wonderful!

This makes a great holiday baking recipe, too.

Here’s what it looks like.

Another view.

And in case you can stop at just one!

Here’s what I did.

Mix butter eggs, brown sugar, white sugar, vanilla, baking powder and salt. (I like to add the baking powder and salt now to make sure they get thoroughly mixed into the batter.

Here, it’s all mixed.

View original post 236 more words

About gingy55

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways; family, friends, and those who may one day be friends. Being blessed with a rich heritage of cooks, I decided to share some of my life with those who are interested. I pray that you're going to be able to add to your repertoire of meals either by using my recipes or customizing them for you, your family and friends. BTW Gingy is the name my brother and sister called me when we were little as they couldn't say Jennie.

One response »

  1. Hey, thanks for reblogging my post. Sometime you gotta check out my Chunky Blond Brownies recipe from Taste of Home (already online in the archives). This is where this and many other of my brownies recipes originate from (like the Reese Cup Brownies). I use this basic recipe with any kind of chocolate Halloween candy to get rid of it and anytime I want to use up other kinds of chips and nuts. It’s fantastic.

Leave a Reply

