I Was on a Yum Yum Hunt

Standard

My experience in being successful on my ‘Yum Yum Hunt’ procurred me 2 recipes from friends.  We’ve always referred to this as Blueberry Yum Yum, my sister, Suzanne’s grandson refers to it as Blueberry Delight, uhm, his very favorite.  Since I’ve really been focussing on eating more healthy with less sugar, salt, etc., becoming less sedentary and more active by walking at least 10,000+ steps daily, equating to 5 miles, I dissected these 2 recipes adding & subrtracting, editing & replacing ingredients to keep the taste buds happy and the fat cells shrinking.  ….

My crust:

2 oz. Walnuts

20 Shortbread Cookies, Sugar Free

1/2 c. butter

  I melted the Butter in a 13×9 glass Pyrex baking dish at 350.

^ During the melting process I placed Walnuts in my electric chopper and ground to powder stage transferring to a large (8 c.) measuring cup, following suit with the shortbread cookies.  I removed the melted butter from the oven.  After whisking dry ingredients, combined and spread crust evenly then replaced in oven to bake for 20 minutes.

^ Also while butter was melting I placed into a 4 qt. saucepan, 4 c. frozen Blueberries, 1 c. Sugar & 1/4 c. water, over low/medium flame, stirring occasionally, allowing to reach a low boil.  At time of low boil, combined 1/4 c. corn starch & 3 T cold water, stirring till smoothly dissolved.  Being sure once boil stage is attained and corn starch water is ready, to slowly pour into saucepan, still over heat while continuing to stir in, to blend well.  The berries & liquid should begin to thicken perfectly.  Removed from heat, let sit 5-10 minutes then place in glass dish, or in my case a glass (8 c.) measuring cup, placing in freezer to cool.

^ While crust baked I prepared the filling using 1/3 less fat, low calorie Cream Cheese, 2/3 c. sugar & 1 tsp. Vanilla creaming together with hand mixer in my (8 c.) plastic measuring cup.  Once desired creamy consistency was reached I mixed in one regular size container of Whipped Topping then placed in the refrigerator to keep desired stiffness.

OKAY ~ NOW ~ FINALLY ~~~ BOY , that was a Power Packed 20 minutes….remove crust from oven.  Let stand 5-10 minutes before placing in freezer to cool.

(Yes, I’m making this delectable delight STARTING @ 9:15 PM..going to work in AM). Almost 2 hours after beginning this endeavor, taking time to watch the latest episode of Who Do You Think You Are (Alfre Woodard) and a Jeopardy, too, success! Complete!  Covered and in fridge for tomorrow!  Yay me! 👏👏👏

~~~~~~~~~

<Oh, BTW!  On our way home from the wake of my Premier Designs Mom’s Mom, finalizing the few items needed to finish my Blueberry Cream Cheese Fluff, my sweet Hubby asked if he was going to get have any of it!  Oh yes, this is HIS! ❤️

He asked because usually when I fix desserts lately, it’s for someone else!  I assured him he could have as much as he’d like whenever he likes.

“Can I have some for Breakfast?”

“Yes, if you want it for Breakfast!”

😉😊

image

About gingy55

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways; family, friends, and those who may one day be friends. Being blessed with a rich heritage of cooks, I decided to share some of my life with those who are interested. I pray that you're going to be able to add to your repertoire of meals either by using my recipes or customizing them for you, your family and friends. BTW Gingy is the name my brother and sister called me when we were little as they couldn't say Jennie.

Leave a Reply

