Dr. Pepper Roast, Oh My!!!

Standard

Last week a Facebook friend posted about making a Dr. Pepper Roast for her hubby’s Birthday celebration! I was intrigued and decided I should do so!  We had purchased and excellent bargain at a local grocer, $1.69 lb. for a HUGE Pork section.  I had a 5 lb. section set aside for a special meal, hubby cut up maybe 3 lb. for an upcoming Outback Stew, still 2 2.5-3 lb. roasts to be creative with in freezer.  I had most ingredients to throw this awesome meal together, so just got a couple things.

Recipe:

5 lb. roast

3.5 c. Dr. Pepper

1 15oz. Can Tomato sauce

3 fat carrots, thickly sliced

1 yellow onion, julienned 

No Salt & Pepper, to taste

Sprinkle top with dried Parsley

I assembled all of the above in my Slow Cooker, let cook all day, and couldn’t get it out of my mind all day. When I got home, carrots were still too firm for our liking so I cooked 1.5-2 hours more but on Hi after turning roast & reserving 2-2.25 c. liquid for gravy making.  Then I also prepared rice with both water & liquid from roast.  What a feast fit for a King & Queen.  Little effort.  Little out of pocket expense.  Big flavor.  Big enjoyment.  Great health benefits.  

  

About gingy55

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways; family, friends, and those who may one day be friends. Being blessed with a rich heritage of cooks, I decided to share some of my life with those who are interested. I pray that you're going to be able to add to your repertoire of meals either by using my recipes or customizing them for you, your family and friends. BTW Gingy is the name my brother and sister called me when we were little as they couldn't say Jennie.

Leave a Reply

