Tamale Whatever

Standard

I love you’re post and your story! Sometimes what seems to us an ‘epic fail’ turns out to be perfection. Thanks for your story. How’d it taste? Scrumptious I’d imagine, enough at least, to bring back good memories!

Cooking in Sens

IMG_8209b

When we were kids, my parents would take us to visit cousins in Richmond, California.  The two things I remembered about these visits were the mosquitoes and the tamales.  The mosquitoes were enormous, science fiction mutants and after an hour of running around in the garden, our bodies were streaked with blood from their bites.

IMG_8171b

The tamales were rich, thick and spicy with a tomatoey pork sauce and just enough of the masa harina corn to hold the filling.  They were hand made by a neighborhood “Mamacita”, loaded into a hand truck with steamer and sold from door to door.   What a difference between these authentic tamales and the ones you are served in restaurants today with a thick tube of corn and a slick of meat sauce!  Bleah!  I never order tamales at restaurants.  That said, I totally failed at making the tamale filling!  From the beginning, I didn’t intend to make…

View original post 115 more words

About gingy55

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways; family, friends, and those who may one day be friends. Being blessed with a rich heritage of cooks, I decided to share some of my life with those who are interested. I pray that you're going to be able to add to your repertoire of meals either by using my recipes or customizing them for you, your family and friends. BTW Gingy is the name my brother and sister called me when we were little as they couldn't say Jennie.

Leave a Reply

