My Favorite Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Standard

When I was in Home Ec my Mom gave me this awesome cookbook, my first one ever, now pretty ragged as I continue to revert to it often.  Besides the cookie recipe the pancake recipe in this is the best ever, as well.  Now, I had to go on ‘a cookbook hunt’ in hubby’s office to find this since he loves pancakes/waffles and he must think this belongs to him.  Or he just wants it close.  Not sure which.

  
I read a great post on SadiesNest.com blog a bit ago that her sister had given her a great Oatmeal Raisin Cookie recipe and I immediately zipped back in time.  I want to share mine with you, and her, too!

  
~~~~~

An aside story!  

A few years ago 2 of my Grandsons decided they were into cooking so eBay became my friend as I was able to find a very well taken care of copy of this same cookbook.  It, along with several other cookbooks, was an added Treasure to their gift!  

Their Dad, my eldest son, lit up when he saw it and began sharing a variety of stories with them about his childhood using this cookbook with me during all his growing up years.  I had no idea it was that special to him!

After the gifts and meal the children including 3 grandsons, my teen soon & a friend , baked ‘Cookies on a Stick’ from Paula Deen’s Children’s Cookbbok.  It was so fun for them; chocolate chip cookie dough, Popsicle or Sucker sticks, mini m&ms … Assembly Line style they balled up dough & wrapped around stick, rolled in m&ms, arranged on cookie sheet and baked according to cookie dough package directions! Now, mind you, they should wait till cookies cooled and the kids all did well with that, but the Dads, now that was a different story.  ğŸ˜‰ their cookies fell apart simply because they didn’t wait. 

Now, bake cookies!  Enjoy life!  

About gingy55

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways; family, friends, and those who may one day be friends. Being blessed with a rich heritage of cooks, I decided to share some of my life with those who are interested. I pray that you're going to be able to add to your repertoire of meals either by using my recipes or customizing them for you, your family and friends. BTW Gingy is the name my brother and sister called me when we were little as they couldn't say Jennie.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

