My Good Morning Pumpkin Cream Cheese Coffeecake…

Standard
My Good Morning Pumpkin Cream Cheese Coffeecake…

  

  
Yesterday really was a morning for baking Breakfast Breads!  Our local Grocer, Claiborne Hill, daily sells family packs of bananas at a low price so my choice of treat for our Police Station would be Mama’s Banana Bread, IMHO the very best ever, plus admittedly the easiest ever, so boom there it is…

Mama’s Banana Bread

Cut or mash 2-3 very ripe bananas=about 1 c.

1 1/4 c. Flour

1 c. Sugar

1 tsp. Baking soda

1/2 c. Vegetable oil (I use Canola) sometimes sub applesauce or apple butter 

2 eggs

2 good shakes of ground cinnamon

Since this is such a quick & simple mix I just use my hand mixer, mix well & bake at 350 for 45 minutes to an hour…I also turn bread for more even baking along during baking time.  Maybe it’s all in my head, but I just think it works better.  You can also add raisins or nuts if you choose.

*I call this Mama’s simply due to the fact she used this to teach me at 9 years of age & I just don’t see any point in changing it.  


I had also decided I want to have some Pumpkin bread….using some frozen pre cooked pumpkin from a few years ago, packaged in 3 c. increments.  I love this particular pumpkin’s meat, Passion Pink Pumpkins, best I’ve ever eaten.  As I made 3 Banana Breads, ahem…and ate one of the bananas as I worked, so not real ripe, but still good to use for bread.  I originally decided to use the ‘exact recipe’ as Banana..but sub pumpkin, but with 3 c. I began my adjustments, so here goes…

My Good Morning Cream Cheese Coffeecake

3 c. Pumpkin, pre cooked but frozen

2 c. Flour

1 c. Sugar

1 tsp. Baking soda

1 T Baking powder

1/2 c. Canola oil

2 eggs

1 tsp. Ground Nutmeg

1 tsp. Allspice

1/2 tsp. Ginger

1 tsp. Cinnamon

(At last minute I decided on the cream cheese, yay, hence the name)

8 oz. Cream cheese

Preheat oven to 375 while mixing batter.  Combine all ingredients except Cream Cheese, mix well, again using hand mixer.  Pour into 15×11 glass baking dish and smooth evenly.  

Cut Cream Cheese into small chunks placing into a 2 c. glass measuring cup for melting in microwave.  My plan was to make it creamy & velvety enough to pour over batter.  Nope!  Didn’t work … Soooooo, I added a few splashes of International Delight Pumpkin Pie Spice creamer (sugar & fat free) into soft Cream Cheese, still not quite as smooth as I wanted, so I improvised.  💡moment…Have you ever baked a Marble Cake?  I have!  That’s what I decided to do.  Back to being 9 years old again!  The mixture was smooth enough to sort of pour so I fairly evenly poured back & forth using a long teaspoon as my assistant, then used a regular table knife to swirl for marbling…and yes!  Just what I hoped for.

Bake 35 minutes, turning halfway through.  Oh my!  I outdid myself if I do say so myself.

~~~~~~

Back to my ‘Police Station’ comment…May 9, 2015 was a pivotal time in my life as well as so many in our area and the nation as things have continued to devastate our hearts with the attack on the Men and Women in Blue!  May 9, 2015 rings out as Hattiesburg, MS when Officers Liquori Tate & Benjamin Deen answered their last call, both killed in the Line of Duty.  I was then so proud of the love, support and honor given these men, their families and all who were able to observe the services, processions, etc.  What a standout honorable spectacle the world was able to see.  

I have so many friends, acquaintances in Law Enforcement, as well as a Brother In Law who served as a Hattiesburg Police Officer, SWAT, currently retired.  Not only should I pray for them, lift them up in honor in my heart but let them know it.  

This summer I decided it was time to give to them for my heart…my decision was to bake my specialty Lemon Blueberry Cream Cheese Bundt Cake…and take them one from time to time, just to bless them but decided they may like the Banana Bread this time…they did! 

Blueberry cream cheese bundt cake   I found the most simple recipe in Hattiesburg American Newspaper at least 30 years ago, but more probably.  I know, I know, not from scratch but it sure tastes like it…
Blueberry-Lemon Cream Cheese Pound Cake

1 box cake mix (I usually use Lemon, but if I can’t find one I add lemon juice to batter)

3 eggs at room temp.

1/2 c. Oil

8 oz. Cream Cheese

2 c. Blueberries

Preheat oven to 350.  Spray Bundt pan with oil to avoid sticking.

Combine all but berries and mix well about 2 minutes.  In a different bowl add berries & 1 T flour and just coat to allow for full batter coverage throughout baking time.  Then gently fold into batter, don’t want to break the berries.  Even scoop into pan.  Place in center of oven for best results.  Bake 1 hour, turning every 15 minutes.  When I remove the cake, after inserting cake tester to be sure it’s done correctly, I let it sit in pan for 10 minutes before transferring to plate.

I glaze with Confectioners Sugar, water, lemon juice. You can make it thick or thin.  For glaze I just use 1/2 c. Powdered Sugar in glass cup with a drop or so of lemon juice & a tsp. or so of water, stir well & heat in microwave 20 seconds, stir.  If it’s the way you like it place on warm cake , make adjustments if you like.  

And please share….others will love your gifts from the heart!  

  

  

About gingy55

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways; family, friends, and those who may one day be friends. Being blessed with a rich heritage of cooks, I decided to share some of my life with those who are interested. I pray that you're going to be able to add to your repertoire of meals either by using my recipes or customizing them for you, your family and friends. BTW Gingy is the name my brother and sister called me when we were little as they couldn't say Jennie.

One response »

Leave a Reply

